Sunday, May 9, 2010

Kinds of Marriages in Ancient India

Kinds of Marriages in Ancient India:
According to Grihya Sutra, there were eight kinds of Marriages in Ancient period of Indian History. The are listed as below:
1. Brahma Marriage
2. Prajapatya Marriage
3. Arsha Marriage
4. Daiva Marriage
5. Gandharva Marriage
6. Asura Marriage
7. Rakhas Marriage
8. Paisach Marriage

The Grihya Sutras had accorded approval for Brahma Marriage, Prajapatya Marriage, Arsh Marriage and Daiva Marriage.

The Dharam Sutra of Gautam, Baudhayana and Vasishta approve all the eight kinds of marriage. However, the Dharam Sutra by Apastamba refers only to six of them and excluded the Rakhas and Paisach marriages.

Digital Sources: For corresponding References Check Dharma Sutra available online at

Authority Referred

Edit Report

Remarks: Subject to elaboration

The Heart of Understanding: Commentaries on the Prajnaparamita Heart SutraThe Dharma SutrasScripture of the Lotus Blossom of the Fine Dharma (The Lotus Sutra): with a new foreword by Stephen F. Teiser (Translations from the Asian Classics)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Itihasik Khoj

Dictionary Read Thus far by

Total Pageviews

Subscribe via email for the latest updates

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner